The Italian Job VS. The Italian Job

7 Mar

Hi there! Welcome to Wednesday, and welcome to the second day of our March Madness Movie Makeover Countdown!

Phew! Try saying that five times fast!

Hmm, that was actually easier for me than I thought it would be…which probably says more about my caffeine intake for the day than my linguistic skills!

As promised, today we’re featuring a tougher, more manly matchup. Mind you, I’m not sure we can top yesterday…not many things scream “tough” more than this guy…

Ahem. Ok. Fine. Maybe they do. Regardless, today’s contenders are:

The Italian Job VS. The Italian Job

The Deal: A dashingly handsome hero takes over a daring bank job to help  a desparate friend get some revenge after a double cross; defensive driving that they don’t teach you at Young Drivers is displayed; destinies and product placements are intertwined.

The Original and the Do Over: The original is ranked #36 on the BFI’s list of top 100 British films, (putting it ahead of A Fish Called Wanda but behind The Full Monty, which is another post altogether) and, let’s face it, Michael Caine and Mark Wahlberg aren’t exactly in the same acting league. That being said, I have to admit that the ending of the remake revs my engine, so to speak, more than the original does. What can I say, I’m a sucker for romance. Plus, those little minis are  just so darn cute!Look at them go!

 

The Definitive Champion: The 2003 remake, though I got a lot of mileage out of the original!

My tank is empty and I’ve now used up my store of car metaphors, so I’ll put the pedal to the metal and get us to a more family friendly destination tomorrow. See you then!

3 Responses to “The Italian Job VS. The Italian Job”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Thomas Crown Affair VS The Thomas Crown Affair « gumballcrayola - March 28, 2012

    […] Original VS The Do Over: As happened when we featured The Italian Job near the beginning of this countdown, the original version of this movie has a much darker, less […]

  2. Dial “M” For Murder VS A Perfect Murder « gumballcrayola - March 26, 2012

    […] Champion: Speaking of Hitchcock, with our previous movie makeovers, I’ve tended to be partial to the remakes, or unable to decide between the two versions. Not in this case! You don’t mess with […]

  3. Father of the Bride VS Father of the Bride « gumballcrayola - March 14, 2012

    […] go! As promised, waaaaay back last week, today’s Makeover is a bit more family-oriented than The Italian Job. I bring […]

Comments

