March Madness Movie Makeovers!

6 Mar

Well hello there! Welcome to March! Can you believe it’s a whole new month since the last time we were together?

I missed you too!

I’ve been out of town, and as such, the Gumball Crayola version of March Madness (which, naturally, has absolutely nothing to do with basketball) is off to a bit of a delayed start. Not what you’ve come to expect from me here, I know. I’m sorry!

All I can tell you is that I love you all too much to subject you to whatever random words and photos may be invoked from spending time on VIA rail. About 9 hours’ time, all told. Don’t worry, I wouldn’t do that to you.

You know what I would do, though?!? Kick off a brand-new, spring-themed countdown! On a cold and snowy day! As my pal Kermit would say: “Yaaaay!”

Yes, I’m happy to announce that today is the start of Gumball Crayola’s inaugural March Madness Movie Makeover Countdown! Since spring is typically thought of as a time of renewal and rejuvenation, we’re going to spend the month looking at movies that have gotten redone, remade, and rebooted.

*Sequels, prequels, and other franchise-related “equels” may or may not also apply, depending on how my IMDB research skills are faring by the end of the month.

We’re kicking things off with a pairing near and dear to my 1980s childhood:

Can’t Buy Me Love VS Love Don’t Cost A Thing

The Deal: Geeky high school guy pays popular girl to go out with him and improve social status; social status goes completely to geeky guy’s head; popular girl realizes she actually kinda digs guy’s old, geeky self; havoc is wrecked on the high school social order, life lessons are learned, and the guy and the girl ride off into the sunset together. Or at least to 3rd period English.

The Do-Over: In the original film from 1987, Patrick Dempsey hadn’t grown into his McDreamy nose yet, and was perfectly cast as Ronald Miller, the loveable, astronomy loving, geek who was desperate to fit in. Why studios thought audiences would buy Nick Cannon as unpopular in 2003 – we are talking about Mr. Mariah Carey, after all – is beyond me!

The Definitive Champion: Can’t Buy Me Love takes the first round!

Thanks to The Mixtape Monster for the photo – classic!

So tell me, are you a die-hard original fan, or are you open to revisions? Be sure to let me know your winning pick for each round in the comments! And as always, feel free to share your suggestions for countdown contenders.

Tomorrow’s pairing will be one for the boys: our love-struck teenagers will be replaced with car chases. See you then!

6 Responses to “March Madness Movie Makeovers!”

  1. tess March 6, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    can’t buy me love is my FAVORITE! i like this game 🙂

    • amber March 6, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      I’m so glad! 🙂

  2. jimmy pop March 6, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    I buy Nick Cannon as being unpopular then, now, and for the rest of his life. Can’t stand him. He ruins whatever show he is on these days because he’s unfunny and a complete ass. Mr Mariah Carey is right, but I’m not sure he competes with her crazy.

    • amber March 6, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

      Well, no…but then again, who could? This is the woman who brought us “Glitter” after all… wait, is that a remake of another movie? I must investigate!

  3. ba March 6, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    have to go with the pre-McDreamy remake

    • amber March 6, 2012 at 11:54 am #

      Did you mean the original movie? With McDreamy before he was McDreamy? That’s my pick too!

Comments

