Last Night Was Oscar Night!

27 Feb

Well hello there! I hope you all had wonderful weekends. Did you watch the Oscars last night? I did, and, as promised, am here to chat about them with you today.

Now, I know today’s post is going up later than usual, and I apologize for the delay. But if you are in the middle of preparing for your workday tomorrow, don’t worry! This won’t take long.

The red carpet pre-show was more exciting than the Oscars. And even that wasn’t very exciting. The end.

Ta-da! I told you that wouldn’t take long.

I’m just kidding. But not by much. I’ll hold off on the griping about how the show’s pace was waaay…tooo…slooow… and about how there were too many montages and about how THE MUPPETS DIDN’T EVEN PERFORM (wow, I felt a rush of residual anger just typing that – could you tell?) because, you know, that’s not really what we’re about here at Gumball Crayola. And I’ll focus on the things I liked during the broadcast instead:

……

I’m just kidding. But not by much. It’s a short list, my friends! Not even my beloved Billy could save last night’s show for me, much as it pains me to say that. Now, I did like his opening movie montage, so he does get some points for that. Even though I think George did most of the work:

 

And I was also really happy that a couple of people in particular were winners last night, even though I haven’t seen either of the movies they performed in. (Wow, is this a relevant pop culture blog, or what? The cutting edge of creativity, that’s what we are! 😉 )

1) Christopher Plummer, Best Supporting Actor, Beginners

“You’re two years older than me darling, where have you been all my life?”

Captain von Trapp finally has his Oscar! Hooray! All is now right with the world. Plus, the man is 82 years old, and he navigated the stairs leading up to that stage better than some much younger winners I could name (Octavia, I’m looking at you!) He earned it!

2) Meryl Streep, Best Actress, The Iron Lady

17 nominations. 17!!! It’s about time, don’t you think? Truthfully, of her more recent nominations, I think she really should have won for Julie & Julia instead…but I’ll take it! And on top of everything else, she gives such fabulous speeches! I wish a class with her was mandatory for all nominees prior to the broadcast. I bet I would’ve had a lot more to blog about, in that case!

Speaking of those 17 nominations, you can click here to see a slideshow of them all, complete with a “Should She Have Won?” recap of each performance. What do you think of Slate’s verdicts? Do you agree with their choices?

Well, I think that’s just about enough recapping for me! Now that the big night has come and gone, the stars will go back to eating carbs, and I’ll go back to blogging about my life as a movie. And stay tuned for a brand new countdown that will be kicking off soon!

Have a great night everyone!

3 Responses to “Last Night Was Oscar Night!”

  1. ba February 28, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    I had totally forgotten that Woody Allen segment.

    It was brilliant and shows off New York as it should.

    Thanks for reminding us.

  2. JustMeMike February 27, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    I like your perceptions and honesty with one exception:

    In a show that honors the movies, their stars, and their makers – how can there be too many montages?

    Each montage makes you remember the past and hope for the future – so I say bring them on.

Comments

