Yesterday Was a Footloose Day

24 Feb

Good morning! Happy Friday! We made it. I hope you’re all looking forward to your weekends.

I feel like my weekend actually started yesterday, since my best friend A. braved the threat of snow and rush hour traffic to come downtown for dinner and a movie! In typical Canadian-winter fashion, we decided to order in Swiss Chalet, and watch a movie on dvd. Perfect! Which is what made yesterday…

A Footlose Day: Wait, wrong Footloose! Let’s try again.

Yesterday Was: A Footloose day. The 2011 edition. I remember there was a lot of grumbling in the entertainment press when this movie came out, and I have to admit I couldn’t understand why Hollywood felt the need to remake such a classic… but you know what? I loved it.

The story of a group of teens disovering their true character and asserting their independance through…um…dance, is just too darn cute to be annoyed with! Even if the acting isn’t exactly Oscar worthy.

Lights, Camera, Action!

I love the original movie, and I was not impressed with the idea of someone new stepping into Kevin Bacon’s burgendy tuxedo jacket. But you have to admit they kids look like they’re having a lot more fun here than in that original honky tonk bar:

And if that’s making you feel nostalgic, here’s the classc prom scene from original:

Have a great weekend everyone! Join me back here on Monday for the first annual Gumball Crayola Oscar Recap! Billy Crystal is back as our host, so you know I’ll have a lot to say about that!

6 Responses to “Yesterday Was a Footloose Day”

  1. jimmy pop February 24, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    New Footloose which is essentially a shot for shot remake? Really?! Really?

    • amber February 24, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      Hey, if Ren had worn something other than his leather jacket and skinny tie to his first day at Boumont High, I don’t think I would have been able to make it through the rest of the movie! The disappointment would have been just too much to bear!!

      • jimmy pop February 24, 2012 at 10:17 am #

        The whole movie should have been something that you weren’t able to bear. The movie didn’t even have John Lithgow… Why not review the new Karate Kid, except you know, the kid was learning kungfu.

        I demand a countdown of remakes comparing them to their originals.

        • amber February 24, 2012 at 10:21 am #

          That’s a great idea! You’ve got me making lists of movies at my desk now…

  2. jimmy pop February 24, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    Beyond disappointed in this post. Words cannot appropriately express it all.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Last Night Was Oscar Night! « gumballcrayola - February 27, 2012

    […] there! I hope you all had wonderful weekends. Did you watch the Oscars last night? I did, and, as promised, am here to chat about them with you […]

Comments

