Yesterday Was A Julie & Julia Day

16 Feb

If you visited here yesterday, you might remember I said that we’d be changing things up at GC here today. Did you notice the Valentine’s Day decorations have been taken down? Don’t worry, only 349 days until we put them up again!

In the meantime, I thought we could try out another change, too. I’ve had so much fun talking about movies with you all over the past couple of weeks… that I’d like to keep going! You’ll notice the categories at the top of the homepage are different: I’m going to try focusing on movies (and music – I couldn’t have one without the other) for a while, saving time, of course, for the occasional holiday countdown.

In keeping with the Gumball Crayola spirit, I’m going to continue looking for the joy around me, and finding energy in the everyday…only now, the everyday is going to turn into a movie. Or music. Or maybe even both, if it’s a really good day.

I have no idea if this is going to work or not – but I’m excited to try! So let’s see how this goes…

Yesterday Was: A Julie and Julia day

Lights, Camera, Action! I’ve posted here before about how I’ve recently switched to a gluten-free diet. It’s been challenging, as I’m not quite the kitchen goddess I like to imagine myself to be. Last night, I tried making polenta for the first time. My friends, the basic recipe for this dish calls for two ingredients. Two. Three, if you want to get technical and include the salt.

It’s probably not a surprise to anyone here that all three ingredients exploded all over my kitchen. Clearly, I did not have the neccessary courage of my convictions!

And, scene:

Julia stays cool under pressure and saves the day! Me – I’m pretty sure there’s polenta on my ceiling.

So? What do we think about this new set up? Lame? No lamer than things usually are around here? Let me know in the comments! 

8 Responses to “Yesterday Was A Julie & Julia Day”

  1. ba February 21, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I’m with Lori

    seafood and limes certainly are gluten-free and not nearly as messy

  2. lori February 21, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    just got caught up… even from Florida

    Here the main deal is seafood and key=lime pie… those are both gluten free, right?

    • amber February 21, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

      Thanks for taking the time to visit while you’re away! Seafood is definitely gluten free…especially if it’s grilled with a lot of butter! Yum!

  3. Brenda-Lee February 16, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Love the movie/music theme! 🙂

    • amber February 16, 2012 at 9:40 am #

      Yay! Well you are the movie expert, so if you like it, then I’ll definitely stick with it for a while! 😀

  4. jimmy pop February 16, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    1) No idea what polenta is,
    2) How in the world did it explode all over the kitchen?
    3) Did it still taste okay?

    • amber February 16, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      1) cornmeal and water. it can be served as a side dish, like rice, or used as a base for other recipes.
      2) I’m just that talented! No, you’re supposed to cook it in a pot on the stove (like you would w/rice) and it bubbled up and went EVERYWHERE
      3) Yup!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Last Night Was Oscar Night! « gumballcrayola - February 27, 2012

    […] you think? Truthfully, of her more recent nominations, I think she really should have won for Julie & Julia instead…but I’ll take it! And on top of everything else, she gives such fabulous […]

Comments

