Like You Even Have to Ask: Sally and Harry, 1989

14 Feb

If you know me outside of Gumball Crayola, or even if you’ve known me here at GC for a while, then you probably saw this one coming from about 435 miles away.

Even if you’re only just getting to know me and are new to Gumball Crayola (hi new people!) well, then you might have only seen this coming from about 434 miles away.

Yes, this movie really is just that good.

Even if you think the movie isn’t well written (it is) or acted (it is) or has anything all that meaningful to say about relationships some twenty plus years after it’s release (it does)  – chances are good (really good) that you’ve absorbed it as some sort of pop culture touchstone. I’m sure – in fact I’m certain – that you can recite at least one line of dialogue from that movie without thinking about it twice. Everybody, say it with me now:

“I’ll have what she’s having.”

But this movie is so, so, so much more than a certain scene in a certain deli! It’s funny, and it’s honest, and it’s heartfelt, and it says more about real relationships and true love than any other movie I’ve seen. Ever. The End.

No, of course this isn’t the end! Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, we can get to the good stuff. And oh, there’s so much good stuff to get to! So here we go:

The Couple: Sally Albright and Harry Burns, When Harry Met Sally

Why They’re Great Together: Because…they didn’t like each other at first. Then, they became friends. They were friends for a long time. And then they weren’t.

Favourite Moment/Quote: And I thought narrowing down the moments in Wall-E was tough! But, because I love this movie, and you all, so very very much, I persevered. I pushed through the pain, and came out the other side! With, I’m happy to say, a handy dandy guide to WHMS. I present to you, the Gumball Crayola special Valentine’s Day Championship Couple Edition of When Harry Met Sally… in four parts.

Part One: Harry and Sally Can’t Be Friends.

Part Two: Harry and Sally Can’t Be Friends.

Part Three: Harry and Sally Can’t Be Friends

Part Four: Harry and Sally Can’t Be Friends

Ta-da!

They’re Your Perfect Couple If: You’re looking for your best friend. Or… you’re me.

Well, that’s it. The Countdown has officially come to an end. Thanks for stopping by! If you haven’t seen your favourite couple here over the past 14 days, be sure to leave a note in the Comments. And come visit again tomorrow, when we announce our Runners Up!

Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day everyone!

3 Responses to “Like You Even Have to Ask: Sally and Harry, 1989”

  1. ba February 14, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    the best couple movie ever?

    “… you’re right, you’re right, I know you’re right.”

  2. Deborah February 14, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    you’re awesome. and you’re right, i totally saw that coming from 435 mi away.

    • amber February 14, 2012 at 9:48 am #

      Thank you! I knew you would – you know me so well 🙂

Comments

