Annie and Crash, 1988

13 Feb

Good morning! Welcome to the start of another week – and to the last couple days of our Countdown! Since I was off the grid and unplugged this past Saturday, I owe you a couple! But I thought I’d save the extra pair for tomorrow, so that we can have a big finish. That still leaves one couple for today though, and I have to say, they’re a pretty good one, in my humble, bloggerly opinion.(Thanks to this humble blogger’s Dad, for the excellent suggestion. I had forgotten how much I loved this movie!)

The Couple: Annie and Crash, Bull Durham

Why They’re Great Together: They combine several of the traits of Countdown couples past: snappy dialogue… a sense of play…. great hair. Plus, I like the fact that their relationship starts with baseball; I’m a Blue Jays girl, myself. Following the grand tradition of romantic comedies, our couple begins the movie apart from each other, but they learn that they have a goal in common, and are soon inexorably drawn together as they work for their common cause. What makes these two stand out, however, is the fact that their “common cause” is actually the third point in their love triangle. They both want to make LaLoosh (also known as Meat, or if he’s having a good day, Nuke) a ballplayer who can make it up to “The Show.” The fun comes from watching how they do it. If you haven’t seen the movie, then let’s just say that Annie has some very unique…uhhh… coaching tips. Which brings us to:

Favourite Moment/Quote: Annie and Crash have about a million memorable quotes between them, but the one I want to share with you here is actually between Annie and Nuke, for a couple of reasons. One, it’s an awesome example of how hilarious this movie is, and two, it’s an awesome example of why Annie and Crash are the couple the audience roots for, love triangle or not.

Ebby Calvin LaLoosh: You’re playing with my mind.
Annie Savoy: I’m *trying* to play with your body.
Ebby Calvin LaLoosh: I knew it, you’re trying to seduce me!
Annie Savoy: Well of course I’m trying to seduce you, for God’s sake, and I’m doing a damn poor job of it… Aren’t I pretty?
Ebby Calvin LaLoosh: God, I think you’re real cute.
Annie Savoy: Cute? Baby ducks are cute, I HATE cute! I want to be exotic, and mysterious!
And, of course, for those of you who hear the words “Bull Durham” and think of that famous speech, well, here it is! But beware – Crash is intriguing and romantic and poetic…and not suitable for work. You might want to watch this at home!

 

 

They’re Your Perfect Couple If: You believe in the church of baseball. And long, slow, deep, wet, kisses that last for three days.

Whew! *fans self* See you back here tomorrow for our final Countdown Couples!

Comments

