Jane and John, 2005

10 Feb

We’re about two thirds of the way through our first annual Countdown to Valentine’s here at Gumball Crayola, and I think it’s time to switch it up a bit. I’ve been getting a lot of comments and suggestions from people who want to see some couples who are a little less traditional and a little…edgier, instead.

Well what can I say? You talk, and I listen! Just because I rock a lot of pink, and purple, and exclamation marks at GC doesn’t mean that I don’t have a dark side! I can be edgy too, man!

Ok. Who are we kidding. I can’t be edgy at all. But I know some people who can! Which brings us to…

The Couple: Jane and John, Mr. & Mrs. Smith

Why They’re Great Together: ‘Cause they’re edgy, man! And dangerous and darkly hilarious at the same time. Which makes for a pretty fun movie, actually. These two are definitely our least romantic couple to date. But that doesn’t mean they’re not compelling – quite the opposite, in fact. They’re practically magnetic. And ultimately, they’re perfectly compatible (on and off screen, as it turns out) So maybe edgy can be romantic – who knew?!?

Favourite Moment/Quote: Did I mention that these two were magnetic?

 

They’re Your Perfect Couple If: You like your relationships with a lot of adrenaline. Or you’re looking for an exciting, varied career that involves world travel and killer cheekbones.

“Killer” cheekbones – ha! I didn’t even do that on purpose! Enjoy your Friday everyone!

7 Responses to “Jane and John, 2005”

  1. ba February 10, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    loved it…. watched the whole clip realizing that I had totally forgotten that scene !

  2. Deborah February 10, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    ah, i like where this countdown is going. i can’t wait to see the next 3 and the finalist!

    • amber February 10, 2012 at 11:13 am #

      Glad you’re enjoying it! I think you’ll approve of tomorrow’s couple too…

  3. jimmy pop February 10, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Killer cheekbones and you’re saying that wasn’t on purpose? Really?

    I just think they’re a more realistic portrayal of coupledom, complete with the attempted murder!

    • amber February 10, 2012 at 9:01 am #

      Realistic portrayal of coupledom:
      Jane – There’s just this huge space between us, getting bigger and bigger, filling up with all of the things we don’t say to each other. What’s that called?
      Therapist – Marriage.

      • jimmy pop February 10, 2012 at 11:59 am #

        Hahaha I don’t know how this wasn’t the championship pairing!

        Jay and Silent Bob?

        Which reminds me, I went to the Live From Behind Kevin Smith thing last week. Not terrible.

        • amber February 10, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

          oh, I’ve had the championship pairing planned for ages…

          Jay and Silent Bob…interesting twist on the theme…

Comments

