Lucy and Jack, 1995

8 Feb

Good morning, and welcome to Wednesday! Shutterbug sister of mine,  you can stop reading this right now and just come back tomorrow, because today’s movie is, you guessed it, While You Were Sleeping! *applause, applause*

Ok. Now that she’s gone, the rest of us can relax and enjoy this movie for what it is: a classic! I mean, come on people, what’s not to love? Don’t let Peter Gallagher’s eyebrows intimidate you, this movie’s got it all! Leads with likeable and un-botoxed faces! A wacky yet loving family as the supporting cast! Christmas music!! And 90s hair and clothes styles!!!

(If you’ve been here to Gumball Crayola before, then you know those last two items clinched things for me.) So, let’s get to it!

(I’m watching the movie on youtube while I’m typing this, by the way.)

The Couple: Lucy and Jack, While You Were Sleeping

Why They’re Great Together: Well, if our recent couples have been ridiculously gorgeous with ridiculously nice hair, then Lucy and Jack are ridiculously…normal. They don’t have glamorous jobs or apartments. They just work, and then come home, and eventually, fall in love.

Oh, and did I mention that Lucy is pretending to be engaged to Jack’s brother Peter, who’s in a coma? And that Lucy and Peter have never actually spoken to each other? And that while Peter is in the coma, Lucy falls in love with Jack and, in fact, his whole family, finding a place for herself in a beautiful world that was previously dark, grey, and lonely?!?

Best Moment/Quote: I love the natural, easy chemistry between the two leads in this movie, but I love the whole zany, screwball 1940s comedy vibe that surrounds their entire situation, too. Here’s an example, when Lucy asks for advice from her co-worker:

Lucy: I’m having an affair. I like Jack.
Jerry: Who’s Jack?
Lucy: Peter’s brother.
Jerry: So?
Lucy: So he thinks I’m engaged.
Jerry: To who?
Lucy: To Peter.
Jerry: Lucy, I really don’t have time for this.
Lucy: If I tell Jack I lied to his family he will *never* speak to me again. And Ox and Midge and Mary and Saul….
Jerry: Saul? Who’s Saul?
Lucy: The next door neighbor. But you know what? Actually, he knows.
Jerry: Lucy, you are born into a family. You do not join them like you do the marines.

They’re Your Perfect Couple If: Your motto is “love me, love my family” Or you want to bring plaid shirts and oversized sweaters back in fashion.

Have a great day everyone! I promise tomorrow’s couple will be more…current.

4 Responses to “Lucy and Jack, 1995”

  1. jimmy pop February 9, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Oh my god, no.

    • amber February 9, 2012 at 9:51 am #

      LOL! That sounds familiar – you and my sister should hang out 🙂

  2. Deborah February 8, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    was your sister even BORN in 1995…?

    • amber February 8, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      Hahaha! She was – though she was too young to appreciate Sandra’s awesome wardrobe choices 🙂

Comments

