Ellie and Peter, 1934

1 Feb

Good morning! And Happy First Day of February!

I thought I’d decorate the place in honour of Valentine’s Day later this month; do you like it?

Which brings me to our new theme for the next couple of weeks: A Countdown of My Favourite Cinematic Couples. Every day I’ll be featuring a movie pairing that speaks to me. You know, that special relationship that moves me, that I can relate to, aspire to, that brings me to tears…that makes me laugh until my Diet Coke comes out of my nose.

This is going to be fun.

Be sure to mention your favourite couple in the comments – who knows, they could be featured on the Countdown!

And now, on to our inaugural couple…

Couple: Ellie and Peter in It Happened One Night

Why they’re great together: One word: chemistry. These two are the original romantic comedy dream team. Everyone  – from writers to directors to actors – has been trying to duplicate their connection since the first time they saw these two meet… in 1934. Think of your favourite scene in your favourite comedy, and chances are that the template for that scene came from It Happened One Night.

Best moment/quote: Peter and Ellie have to spend the night at a hotel – together – when they miss their bus. Peter is forced to take drastic measures to keep Ellie’s identity a secret (she’s a wealthy heiress on the lam! hey – it’s 1934 – embrace it.)

 

Ellie: I just had the unpleasant sensation of hearing you referred to as my husband.
Peter: Oh yeah, I forgot to tell ya about that. I registered as Mr. and Mrs.
Ellie: Well, what am I expected to do? Leap for joy?By the way, what’s your name?
Peter: What’s that?
Ellie: Who are you?
Peter: Who me? I’m the whippoorwill that cries in the night. I’m the soft morning breeze that caresses your lovely face.
Ellie: You’ve got a name, haven’t you?
Peter: Yeah, I got a name. Peter Warne.
Ellie: Peter Warne. I don’t like it.
Peter: Don’t let it bother you. You’re giving it back to me in the morning.

They’re your perfect couple if: You don’t consider it an actual conversation unless it occurs at the speed of at least 35 words per minute. Unless you’re winning an argument…which you can do with hardly any words at all.

3 Responses to “Ellie and Peter, 1934”

  1. ba February 1, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    Wonder if that is where the expression ” shake a leg” came from

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jane and John, 2005 « gumballcrayola - February 10, 2012

    […] about two thirds of the way through our first annual Countdown to Valentine’s here at Gumball Crayola, and I think it’s time to switch it up a bit. I’ve been getting […]

  2. Eve and Wall-E, 2008 « gumballcrayola - February 9, 2012

    […] often feel the need to express their every single thought every single second. (Remember how much Ellie and Peter talked?)Eve and Wall-E are by far the best, most effective communicators we’ve seen here […]

Comments

