…….

24 Jan

Good morning! Happy Tuesday. I hope your morning, and week, is off to a good start so far. If you were here with me yesterday, you’ll know I have a couple of stories from my weekend to share. Here’s one.

On Sunday, my mom and I went to go see the movie “The Artist” which is getting a lot of awards-season buzz these days. The Oscar nominations haven’t come out yet, but the gossip is that, when they do, “The Artist” will scoop up quite a few.

We just didn’t get the appeal.

The begining of the movie was cute, and the end of the movie was cute, and this guy  was really, really cute…  but we felt like the middle of the movie dragged a bit. A lot. A WHOLE lot.

I was talking about it with a friend afterward, and she said she thought that’s to be expected – that today’s audiences just don’t have the patience for dialogue-free film. But then I thought of one of my favourite parts of one of my favourite movies of all time:

 

 

*sniff, sniff, sob…* Talking, schmalking! Who needs it?

What about you? Did you see “The Artist”? Did you like it? Do you like these newfangled “talkie” pictures or do you yearn for the golden age of silent cinema?

Share your thoughts in my poll and in the comments!

Picture of Uggy the Dog, star of “The Artist” from http://www.iheartthetalkies.com

3 Responses to “…….”

  1. deborah January 24, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    i still love UP. i get teary eyed every time i watch that scene…

    • amber January 25, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      I know, right? Me too! Its just so well done, with the music, and all of the little details…like his ties!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One or Two or Ten « gumballcrayola - January 25, 2012

    […] I was so busy sharing my rant, I mean, review, of “The Artist” (which you can check out here if you haven’t seen it already,) that I completely forgot that Tuesdays were going to be […]

Comments

