Baking Up a New Frontier

19 Jan

Good morning! Brace yourselves – we still haven’t made it to Friday yet.

But it could be worse! We could be working our way through this week alone. As I’ve said many times before, I so appreciate having all of you stop by here at Gumball Crayola. Time flies faster when I’m with you, it really does. Particularly when we have Downton Abbey discussions to look forward to!

(If you haven’t taken the quiz yet, you can get to it here. If you have taken it, I’m dying to know – did anyone get the Dowager Countess as their result? If you did, I’d love to invite you over for tea and a discussion of the people we know who lurk behind the laurels.)

And speaking of things that help brighten up long, grey weeks… early this week I mentioned that I wanted to share some of my weekend with you.

Last week I decided to try following a gluten-free diet for a while, to see if it could help clear up some minor health problems that I’ve been dealing with.

(Bad skin isn’t exactly life-threatening, but it is annoying, particularly when you’re trying to act Grown Up in Corporate World,)

So, on the weekend, I plunged face first (heh – acne humour!) into the world of gluten-free baking… and I’m happy to say it was a success! I modified Michael Smith’s chewy chocolate chip cookie recipe, and am sharing it here with you, just because.

Just because…ummm…warm gooey cookies will help you warm up this winter? (And you thought I forgot about our theme! Ha!)

Enjoy, and I’ll see you back here tomorrow for my brand new favourite thing! (Can you tell I’m looking forward to Friday?!?)

Amber’s (Ooey Gooey Gluten Free) Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 1/2 cups of gluten free flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill rice flour)

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. In a larger bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla, then slowly incorporate dry ingredients. Mix in chocolate chips.

Drop spoonfuls of cookie dough onto prepared baking sheet and bake for 9-11 minutes. (I like a chewier cookie, so I tend to slightly underbake mine.) Makes 18-24 cookies, depending on size. Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Baking Up a New Frontier”

  1. ba January 19, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    I took the test again… I answered slightly differently…

    and I am STILL Lord Robert !!!

    Obviously I am of noble birth and must have been switched as a baby !!!!!

  2. Deborah January 19, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    i’m lady edith crawley. is that good? it’s kind of scary how true that might be… haha

    anyways, gluten free is the way to go! but dont’ forget to indulge with a whole whack of wheat every now and again….

    p.s. still looking into getting bob’s redmill gluten free all purpose flour shipped here, by the sack

    • Deborah January 19, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      hurrah! i did the quiz again and i got the dowager dutchess!

  3. Tara Savage January 19, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Good luck with the gluten free life style! I took the quiz, got “John Bates.” Still haven’t seen the show though!!!! 😀

    • amber January 19, 2012 at 9:48 am #

      Thanks Tara! I’ll be sure to keep everyone “posted” on how it goes (heh – blog humour!)
      Hilarious that you got John Bates – a perfect match to my Anna Smith! No wonder we like each other’s blogs 🙂

Comments

