The Weather and Infinite Wisdom

10 Jan

I have to admit that I’m continuing to struggle with this month’s chosen theme of “keeping warm”. Who knew that the weather would turn out to be such a challenging topic, and to a Canadian, no less?!? But then again, who knew we’d have a run of days where the temperature would be well above zero degrees – in the middle of January?!?

However, in my infinite wisdom, I’ve decided to stick with this topic for the rest of the month, because with my luck, the moment I change my mind is the moment we’ll be plunged back into January-esque temperatures (and precipitation levels!)

So, keeping that in mind, please forgive me in advance for the following:

Nothing raises the temperature like a good scandal. (*sigh* I know. It’s bad. But remember the infinite wisdom!) And if that scandal happens to occur on a gorgeous English country estate amidst gorgeously dressed people, well, so much the better!

Yes, I’m talking about the television series Downton Abbey. Is anyone else completely immersed in this show?

Seriously. I’m so immersed, I’m practically underwater here. (ha! Obsessive humour…) I’m considering adding a weekly feature here to GC, just so we can discuss the amazingness that is Maggie Smith. And the sets. And the clothes. And have I mentioned the sets?

For those of you who haven’t yet seen the show, click here and let the wonderful theme music wash over you while you look at the gorgeous scenery from season one below.

And for those of you who are counting down to the next episode (5 days and 13 hours!)… click here and let the wonderful theme music wash over you while you look at the gorgeous scenery from season one below!

 

 

 

Photos courtesy of pbs.org and Heather Clawson at Habitually Chic. You can check out Heather’s website on my Friends With Blogs list!

6 Responses to “The Weather and Infinite Wisdom”

  1. Deborah January 10, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    ugh… i can’t afford to pick up another series to watch! i’m already behind on the tudors (did you happen to have the first season? the one online is all out of whack) and the ones i am following are all starting up again. truly, television is the devil.

    p.s. i got my blog up and running 🙂

    • amber January 11, 2012 at 8:31 am #

      but it’s so FUN!! lol. Congrats on the blog! I’m looking forward to it!

  2. ba January 10, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    I love this series…

    imagine not going down for dinner until your gown was just so, your jewels fastened around your neck or at your ears and your elbow-length gloves were buttoned !!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Still A True Story « gumballcrayola - January 18, 2012

    […] I mentioned that I’m obsessed with Downton Abbey? No? Really?? Oh. Because I totally meant […]

  2. Why I Lose At Cards « gumballcrayola - January 13, 2012

    […] you’ve visited me here before, you know that I’m all about not jinxing things. Because, you know, I’m calm, cool, and collected […]

  3. The Epic, Infinite Wisdom of Mom « gumballcrayola - January 11, 2012

    […]  If they’re not, here’s some information that might give you a little boost – and yes, might give a warm and cozy feeling. (You knew I’d find some way to tie in to this month’s theme, didn’t you? As I said yesterday, it’s too risky not to!) […]

Comments

