This is a True Story

4 Jan

Good morning, and welcome to Wednesday! Is the transition back to work going a little more smoothly today?

Right.

That was my reaction too.

Don’t worry, I have a plan. I was thinking the other day about how much fun I had doing the Countdown to Christmas with you, and thinking that we should have a theme for January as well.

(That way, instead of spending hours on Pinterest looking at all kinds of things… I can spend hours on Pinterest looking for one specific kind of thing.)

Since our Canadian winter finally seems to be kicking in, I thought “keeping warm” would be a good theme to focus on.

And since laughter warms the soul, I thought I’d kick things off by sharing a conversation that I had with my future lawyer last night:

My Future Lawyer: So, what are your plans for your birthday tomorrow?

Me: I’m so excited! My mom said she’d bake me my favourite Barefoot-Contessa-recipe chocolate cake. And my parents said they would drive downtown to visit but I thought it would be inconvenient for them to drive with the cake, so I’m going to go to their house on the weekend instead.

MFL: So… they’ll drive down and pick you up?

Me: Yup!

MFL: And… bake you a cake?

Me: Yup!

 MFL: And then…drive you back home afterwards?

Me: Yup!

MFL: There just won’t be any…driving…with the cake. Because that would be inconvenient.  

Me: Exactly! You can’t have a birthday without Barefoot-Contessa-chocolate-cake!

MFL: Well…right. Just wanted to be clear.  

See, this is why my future lawyer and I are so good for each other. He helps me to be more practical, and I help him to appreciate the fun things in life…like Barefoot-Contessa-chocolate cake!

Yes, that conversation really happened.

And yes, today really is my birthday.

5 Responses to “This is a True Story”

  1. Deborah January 5, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    oh good grief. i was splitting my side reading that conversation–complete with facial expressions. you two are such a riot.

  2. Audrey January 4, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Happy Birthday Amber. Love your Blogs and love you

    Aunty Audrey and Uncle Doug

  3. ba January 4, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!!!!!

    Enjoy your day

    • amber January 4, 2012 at 11:52 am #

      Thank you!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Epic Weekend of Snuffles and Cake « gumballcrayola - January 9, 2012

    […] a less ominous note, how was everyone’s weekend? I’m fighting a cold, so my Birthdaypalooza week ended with more snuffles than epic […]

Comments

