Things I Love #74

21 Jul

After reading yesterday’s post, my sister, no doubt concerned about my rate of chocolate sheet cake consumption and the state of my health, sent me a link to the vegan and vegetarian based Oh She Glows blog.

Actually, she just wanted me to make these.  

Not that my sister wouldn’t be concerned about the state of my health, if the need for such concern arose, or anything. She just hasn’t tried my sheet cake yet.

Anyway, because I love my sister, and because the remains of my sheet cake were hidden safely away in the freezer, and because I needed something to do while I waited for the next episode of True Blood to load on my laptop (which is another post all together) I decided to make an Oh She Glows Double Chocolate Brownie Dough Blizzard. A healthy way to spend my time, right?

Except it turned out I didn’t have most of the ingredients Angela calls for in her Oh…Blizzard. So I ended up making my own version of the cookie dough she uses in another blizzard recipe.

Here’s what happened:

That’s right, I’ve got nothing. It was an epic recipe fail!!

I thought I could substitute almonds for cashews, but I guess the oil/fat content was off, because the texture was all wrong. The dough was way too crumbly and dry. Even I couldn’t eat it, and that’s saying something.

But it’s ok. These things happen. We must keep calm and carry on. Besides, it’s not a total loss, because now I have a new Friend With a Blog!

Hi Angela! I have a feeling you and I are going to get along  just fine.

5 Responses to “Things I Love #74”

  1. Angela February 14, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    Sorry your tweaks didn’t turn out! I’ve had failed cookie dough experiments before too. I’ve found when it’s crumbly I just add a bit more liquid like maple syrup to make it all stick. I hope your next recipe is successful! Take care, Angela

  2. Katie July 21, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    love Oh She Glows! and love that you managed to do the impossible – produce inedible cookie dough…..you never cease to amaze 🙂

    • amber July 21, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      Believe me, I never thought this day would come either! But I’m happy to entertain, even if it means I can’t eat the dessert I want 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I Love #84 « gumballcrayola - August 5, 2011

    […] to say that there haven’t been some recipe fails along the way (like this one or two…) but there’s been a ton of inspiration and delicious discovery as […]

  2. Things I Love #76 « gumballcrayola - July 26, 2011

    […] You may remember that last week, I mentioned that I’m becoming slightly obsessed with the television show True Blood. […]

Comments

