Things I Love #73

20 Jul

I had a mad wicked craving for chocolate the other night, so… I decided to do something about it.

Now, this is not quite as simple as it sounds. You see, I’ve decided that I need to Stop Spending Money on Food During the Week. While it’s one thing to go out for dinner when my future lawyer is in town for a visit, it is quite another to be going to Starbucks for breakfast – every morning.

 Right??!!??

Right. That’s what I thought. I needed to stop the madness!

Must…. resist…. !!!

And so, on Monday, armed with leftovers from the weekend and a fresh grocery gateway delivery, I vowed that I would Cook All Week! And Stop Buying Things When I Already Have the Ingredients at Home!

Then the chocolate craving hit. And my resolve weakened. And here’s where things got interesting.

The old me would have walked to the specialty food shop a couple of blocks away, gotten a delicious (and overpriced) brownie, and that would’ve been that. But no! I was resolved, remember? So I decided to bake something myself.

Never mind that it was sweltering outside – we’re in the midst of a major heatwave here in the GTA – the Harry Potter franchise had ended and I was mourning the loss of my childhood. I needed chocolate! And I needed it NOW! 

Luckily, the Pioneer Woman understands me. She has a recipe for “the best chocolate sheet cake ever.”  That can be made using only 2 bowls and the exact amount of almost-expired milk and eggs in my fridge! Thanks PW!

Here’s how easy it was to make: aside from the pot soaking in the sink, this was how my kitchen looked when I was done.

Not bad!

And here’s how the cake looked when it was done:

 

Who needs store bought brownies?

Ta-Da! Stay tuned and watch for my resolve to weaken or my pants to stop fitting, whichever comes first…

8 Responses to “Things I Love #73”

  1. a July 20, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    too bad you don’t have a recipe for one (underpriced) brownie

    • amber July 21, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      wouldn’t that be perfect? single-serving-size baking!

  2. ba July 20, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    MMMM…… one piece of brownie vs one whole sheet cake…. I’m just saying….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I Love #100 « gumballcrayola - September 1, 2011

    […] 22      times thinking about The Pioneer Woman’s chocolate sheet cake […]

  2. Things I Love #95 « gumballcrayola - August 23, 2011

    […] falling off the wagon. […]

  3. Things I Love #88 « gumballcrayola - August 11, 2011

    […] I’ve fallen off the wagon. […]

  4. Things I Love #84 « gumballcrayola - August 5, 2011

    […] may remember that a few weeks ago, I threw down the gauntlet, (or spatula, as it were,) and declared that I was going to Stop Spending Money on Food During the […]

  5. Things I Love #79 « gumballcrayola - July 28, 2011

    […] Actually, that’s part of it. It’s really good cake. […]

Comments

