Tales From My Kitchen

18 Apr

I cooked an actual meal last night (an eggplant and chickpea stew from Canadian Living magazine) and even personalized the recipe by adding in a few of my own ingredients! (Orange peppers and kale, in case you were wondering 🙂 ) It’s really easy – obviously, since I attempted it! And it turned out really well too – obviously, since I’m sharing it with you here!

This left me feeling culinarily inspired, and ready to tackle some dessert. I found this recipe on the TasteFood blog  and think I’ll try it next. The author described my ideal oatmeal cookie, except for the raisins. I’ll be substituting dark chocolate and/or dried cranberries in my version. I’m going to try and make these later this week, and will let you know how it goes!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Refrigerating the cookies before baking will ensure a thicker, chewier cookie. Makes about 30 – 2 inch cookies.

1 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature

1 3/4 cups light brown sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 cups old fashioned oats

1/2 cup wheat germ

1 1/2 cups raisins

Whisk butter, sugar, egg and vanilla together in a large bowl until smooth. Mix flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt together in a small bowl. Stir the flour into the butter and sugar and thoroughly combine. Stir in the oats and wheat germ; then add the raisins. Refrigerate the dough for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 F. (190 C.) Drop rounded tablespoons of the dough onto a baking sheet lined with parchment, leaving 2 inches between each cookie. Bake until cookies are set in the middle and golden brown, 12 – 14 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on a rack.

(Hopefully mine will look this good!)

8 Responses to “Tales From My Kitchen”

  1. TasteFood April 19, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Thanks for the link – I hope you enjoyed them! – Lynda

  2. tess April 19, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    just don’t let him find out there is “wheat germ” in them…!

    • amber April 19, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      haha good advice!! we’ll keep that part between us…!

  3. BA April 19, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    I am sending this to Linda and volunteering that you make these for the cottage.

    I think the Big Fresh would like these!

    • Linda April 19, 2011 at 8:07 am #

      My mouth is watering! I am sure Big Fresh would like these, and so would I! 🙂

      • amber April 19, 2011 at 8:30 am #

        And the best part is, I’ll have plenty of time to make practice batches before the cottage! Not that I’ll want to, of course, it’s just that I’ll have to for research purposes… 😉 Thanks for the comment!

    • amber April 19, 2011 at 8:30 am #

      I think so too! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tales From My Kitchen: An Update « gumballcrayola - April 26, 2011

    […] the oatmeal cookie recipe that I found on the Tastefood blog and posted earlier this week? Well, my future lawyer arrived home this weekend for spring break, so I broke out the mixing bowls […]

Comments

