The Gumball Crayola Project

4 Apr

There’s something that I need to get off my chest, and I hope you won’t judge me too harshly. I have to admit that this isn’t the first time I’ve done something like this.

Yes, that’s right, this isn’t all just natural talent and beginner’s luck. I actually have been blogging before. It was a very intense relationship, but like more of my projects than I care to admit, it was short lived; my previous blog fell by the wayside after just a few weeks. Losing interest in projects is, sadly, nothing new for me. A running joke in my family is that my sister is still waiting for the legwarmers I promised to knit her…over five years ago.

However, as I always tell people when they inquire on the status of my current scarf/short story/closet reorganization: for me it’s not just about the finished project, it’s about the process. (Though I’m pretty sure my sister would disagree!) To this day I’ll still reach for a skein of yarn and a pair of needles if I need to decompress. I may or may not have a new scarf at the end of the day, but it’s pretty safe to say that whatever problems were bothering me will seem more managable.

To that end, I’m hoping this blog will help me process my life. My goal in writing is to get in the habit of engaging in the world around me (instead of automatically flaking out on the couch when I get home from work) and, hopefully, to feel happier and more balanced as a result. Will it work? Who knows…but I’m sure I’ll have fun finding out!

3 Responses to “The Gumball Crayola Project”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I Love #100 « gumballcrayola - September 1, 2011

    […] 2        infinitely incomplete legwarmers […]

  2. Look What I Found! « gumballcrayola - April 21, 2011

    […] of my favourite things about starting the Gumball Crayola project has been connecting with all kinds of amazing people.  I’m so appreciative of all the folks […]

  3. Project! Update « gumballcrayola - April 15, 2011

    […] just say that that particular blogging-by-product continues to be work in progress. Much like my sister’s elusive leg warmers, in […]

Comments

